Out of story post…

I highly recommend this as a backup or as a file easy to search for fact checking.  thank you Walt.

http://narimasu.net/stories/maxine.htm

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Out of story post…

  1. GaryDan says:

    Very nice!! Much appreciated!! & Thank You!!

  2. Walt says:

    Perhaps you should have mentioned that it contained the entire story, Maxine’s New Life, Parts 1 and 2, from Chapter 1 to the present. Newbees might not understand what it is.

    While we are off story, you may wonder where the word narimasu in the link came from. Ok maybe you didn’t but I’ll tell you anyway. I was a “military brat” growing up and I attended a DOD school in Tokyo Japan and graduated there in 1953. It was called Narimasu High School, or Officially Tokyo American High School – Narimasu. It was open from 1948 until 1971 then it was closed and the entire housing area (Grant Heights) was torn down and now it is a giant park and a row of condos. I love the looks I get when I say I graduated from high school in Tokyo Japan. Can you picture a high school senior with dad’s car on a saturday night in the largest city in the world before the Status of Forces agreement and the Japanese cops couldn’t touch us?

    I originated the site for my class of 1953. Then other classes, and now all of the Senior Class pictures and candid pictures were added from the 40’s to the 70’s and the durn thing grew to almost 100 pages. http://narimasu.net/memory

    I hate Front Page and other html programs as they like to do what they want instead of what I want. So the entire site is all html coded by me. It was fun trying to make things work or go where I wanted them to be. Now Maxine is a part of it.

    Why? Because they say if you keep your mind active (reading, creating) you may avoid Alzheimers and perhaps live longer. As they say, “Any Day Above Ground is a Great Day!”

    • cindypress says:

      I just deleted a post that was way too personal lol. I would have differed with you right after I woke from the bike fall last summer and for about two days thereafter.

    • GaryDan says:

      Yes I did wonder what Narimasu meant. I originally thought it was one of Cindy’s sites, but I am happy that you provided an explanation. It was very interesting to me.
      My dad was in the occupation forces in WWII until sometime in 1946. He was a midwest farm boy that had never gone any further from home than Chicago, so his time spent in Tokoyo, even under the circumstances, was a wonderful experience for him and he spoke of it often. Oh, and he came home and married the girl next door. I was born in 1947. I never really knew there was that much of a US presence in Japan after the war, especially a DOD school in Tokoyo. So did you learn to speak any Japanese? My hat is off to you on the html pure code web site & thanks again for sharing the Maxine info.

      • Walt says:

        Ahhh Tokyo, one of the cities where you could truthfully say “I spent two weeks there one night”. There were a lot of Army, AF bases around Tokyo (many closed now), a big naval base at Yakosuka (south of Tokyo), and other places in Japan. The housing area I mentioned, Grant Heights, was originally the Japanese airfield where the kamakazi pilots trained. One of the bunkers there is where Tokyo Rose broadcast from. When we were there the runway just became the main road through the housing area. There are pictures of then and now on my site. I found a link that showed the Jap planes and pilots at the original airfield in the early 1940’s.

        I learned some Japanese, mostly the usual phrases to get you by, learned a bit of ancient history (which not many would believe) and could write in the Katakana language.

        I spose we shouldn’t be using Cindy’s Site for this. My apologies Cindy. If you want more info write me at pinchemky@gmail.com

  3. Scribbler says:

    Okay, maybe it’s because I’m a year late to this party, but the /stories/maxine link, above, gets me a 404 not found. /stories gets a 403 Forbidden.

    I must be missing something, here…

    • cindypress says:

      I went back and found them all by going first to the little month by month thingie on the side and pick the month the story was in,

      then I even went back to the very beginning by clicking on the archive section so give that a try.

      • Scribbler says:

        That’s how I found Maxine, in the first place. I came in, by way of Sylvia’s story.

        I was referring to the narimasu.net links.

        Ah, just ignore me. I’m grumpy over this cold, I have

      • cindypress says:

        Im sorry about the cold and the link to Walk has changed Next Tim i see him I will have him post it again.

Leave a Reply

