outof post update

I have checked back and am so very appreciative of the comments.  I hate to leave it unfinished but to be honest with you when I came back after three days away while mentally on a different planet… I could not even remember who the characters were let alone how they got where they were.

 

I will try to write some flash fiction pieces and see how that works out.  Things that do not need to have a follow up.  Not as much fun maybe but who knows.  Anyway I’m back being me again just with even less memory than before.  Keep an eye out for the cindys flash fiction site.

 

and again thank you so very much for the interest and good wishes I’m sure they helped.

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to outof post update

  1. The Mage says:

    Cindy, I am so relieved to hear that you are better!!! We were all very concerned, as you can see by our posts. You mention a flash site for future short stories, what is the address?

    I love your writing and look forward to your new work.

    Ever Yours

      • George says:

        Not exactly know how to reply in this forum. I’ll give it a whirl.

        Mz. Cindy, I have enjoyed Max’s misadventures immensely.

        As to your affliction, I have awoken each and every single morning in my life to a new world having no clue what I did the day before. I learned to write down what I did the day before and what my goals were the following day. Sometimes I achieve them. Good luck.
        George (today I think)

      • cindypress says:

        You and I will go through this day together and if we get tomorrow we will go through that one to.

  2. Shooter says:

    Hang in there Cindy. We are all pulling for you.

    • cindypress says:

      thank you im having to learn to live with some mild dementia and a lot of memory loss. I wish you guys could all meet my dad. After I got out of the hospital I was a basket case. I was really freaking out, He sat me down and said from now on the secret is to forget what you cant do and concentrate on what you can do. You can teach yourself to function just fine with what you have for the next several years. When you feel you have had enough let me know, If I agree we can work something out, I don’t want to know what that something is, but I am damn glad it is there.

      So yes I will write as long as I can but you may have to overlook a lot more and if anyone wants to fix my fuckups feel free.

  3. Walt says:

    The Greatest Dad in the world is the one who is always there when you need him. I’m sure many of us feel that way about our own Dads. Lucky you!

    I was thinking if you can do short stories maybe you could do one more chapter of Max where something goes terribly wrong and have the farm uses the nuclear option on her to end the story. You wouldn’t have to remember too much to do this. Then it wouldn’t be an open ended story. Just a thought.

    When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on!

  4. Mr. T. says:

    Cindy,
    Glad you came back to us, even if only a pass thru. It feels great to see you came back to us.
    I sort of thought that YOUR brain glitch was EXACTLY what would happen to Max. Just for her to one day SUDDENLY experience a memory fault, and stop functioning. You see, in REAL LIFE, that is exactly how my momma bought it. The medical examiner called her glitch a stroke. Results were the same though, she’s gone… I think I agree with Walt, that the nuclear option would be pretty cool to see. Then again, if the farm had anything to say about it, they would want to keep it ALL hush-hush, so they could just get another paralysis patient and download a new personality into the hardware – OR BETTER STILL – just RELOAD Max back into the newly REPAIRED body of Max, and press ‘reset’ and POOF ~ back in the super MAX business.
    There… Do you see what your have instigated ??? I just hope Max’s operating system isn’t Windows based. I wouldn’t want Bill Gates anywhere NEAR Max. LOL !

    Take care Cindy. Come back to us when you can.

    We miss you. You have certainly earned a place in all our hearts.

    Mr. T.

    • cindypress says:

      Thank you I will do something with Maxine that does not require it to go more than a single episode. My mind will not hold the amount of disconnected information to carry on a story line. However I am working on a new story for the other site. It is loosely based on reality so it isn’t so hard to remember YET. It is the disconnected bits of information that I am having trouble with. That and the balance. Someone mentioned stroke. It is like that but the pressure is increases so slowly that sometimes the brain can adjust to it. Like that benign tumor some people have in a muscle. The muscle might not work perfectly but you can still get around with it.

      Up until now it had always reset itself in a day or so. The doctor had always told me that less and less would come back. I know the eventual outcome so now you do as well. So we won’t discuss this again. Any new people will just know me as a tottering old lady.

  5. jack says:

    Glad to hear that your feeling better, I was so worried about you . Take your time things will work out .

    • cindypress says:

      As my daddy says to me I’m gonna just do what I can with what still works, but damn it I am going to do something with something. Even if it is writing children stories. Though I find it hard to imagine myself doing that. Shaky squirrel just doesn’t do it for me.

  6. demitheus says:

    Glad to “see” you back, heck seeing anything posted by you makes me feel good, your Dad is an exceptional and wise man, listen to him, he is right you know, just work with what you have and screw the rest.

    Hope to see more posted soon, blogs, brainfarts, or story, it’s all good.

  7. garydan says:

    Phew!! It’s good to see you back. I was begining to fear the worst. Your dad’s advice about how to proceed on with life is spot on. I was brain damaged in 2001 & has caused progressive problems, and now like you have mild dimentia and memory “issues”. I eventually lost my job, and almost destroyed my marriage, and spent 2 years feeling sorry for myself until I came to the same conclusion that is the advice your dad gave to you. I wish he was there to kick my ass in 2009. Anyway, good to have you back in any shape or form and I will feel fortunate to be able to drink my coffee and enjoy your stories while they last.

    • cindypress says:

      Thank you I am going to find ways to write even if it is no more than flash fiction however the piece I am working on is growing. Not sure how the memory is going to effect it except that researching things is much easier in 3000 than 3,000,000. But just so you know and Garydan can tell you this as well im sure. The brain damage, causes memory loss and some space cowboy thinking but it also makes one a walking time bomb. I burned my hand today so even this little bit of typing is painful. The writing is most likely off till tomorrow.

  8. John says:

    Understanding your disease is the first part to being able to live with it and your limitations. I believe that you have a grip on this and wish you the best.

    Have you ever considered letting another finish Maxine for you under your guidance?

    • cindypress says:

      I have made the offer several times. Anyone who would like is welcome to the story and characters. I would like to see it go on but frankly my input would be counter productive.

  9. Jim Hays says:

    Carney Girl, I missed your tales, and I missed Maxine. I too have had “Issues” and the V.A. and I are working on sorting them out. I am glad that you are still writing, for your own benefit, and look forward to your tales.
    Thank You,
    Best, Jim

Leave a Reply

