Sylvia 232

Sylvia 232

I was back in my house and I left the security gate open.  I didn’t feel like going down to greet anyone.  I did keep the .22 Mag revolver handy and the computer running a live feed from the security camera.  Regardless of the threat evaluation.

I saw Liam drive up in the typical Swamp Dog SUV.  I watched him as he drove up to the house and park behind my Ford Ranger Pick Up Truck.  “How you doing old girl?” he asked me at the door.

“Come on in.  Molly tells me I’ll live, if I don’t die first.  Since you brought back my sleeping aid, I will be fine.”  I of course was referring to the vodka bottles of green dragon.

“Good for you,” Liam said.

“So what’s this I hear about threat neutralization?” I asked.

“I must learn to never speak in front of that lad Jeremy.  He gossips like a girl,” Liam said.

We both laughed at that, me first then Liam.  “So who was it and most of all why?” I asked.

“It was Randal Davis just like you thought.  It seems as though Warren County politics is a real killer.”  He smiled and when I didn’t, he went on. “So somebody decided that you were a threat to them. he hired the two out of state hitters.  He even told them, when to do it.”

“Yeah he was waiting for me one morning at Hardee’s, to have his little talk with me,” I said.

“Well that talk didn’t seem to  have impressed him.  He talked to someone else and they decided to eliminate you,” Liam said.

“I guess I shouldn’t have threatened him,” I said.

“You must have told him something would happen over the weekend.  The hitter’s contract specified, it had to be done before the weekend,” Liam said.

“He was supposed to get back to me by the weekend.  He was to let me know, if they were going to back me, or I was going run as an independent on Monday.

“What they decided, I think, was that you would get enough votes to be sure their man wouldn’t win.  On paper the man they were running looked as though he could beat this Webster clown.  Unless you drained off a significant number of votes, which their statistician said you would do.”

“Well that pretty much explains the why of it, but what happened to change his mind?” I asked.

“That’s the strange part of this whole thing.  The colonel’s geek traced the payment to the hitters, so as far as he knew, we were cops, and going to bring his ass down.  He decides to shoot himself in the head.” Liam said.

“You say that like you don’t believe it,” I replied.

“When a trail ends like this, it just isn’t satisfactory,” he said.

“Sometimes a cigar is just a dildo,” I said.

“Now I have no idea what that means,” he replied.

“Sometimes things aren’t what they seems.  We learned about tripwires in the military.  The geek leans about them in college.  I don’t know how they do it, but there are trip wires in the computer.  He probably tripped one, when he ran down that payment.  His search alerted Randal.  He called his partner or boss to get advice.  He got his answer, a bullet to that brain.  The trail ends with him,” I suggested.

“So the threat isn’t neutralized?” Liam suggested.

“What does the Colonel think?” I asked.

“He thinks it is up to you.  He is sure the man pulling the strings knows now you have resources, he can only dream of having.  The colonel thinks the game is in check and it might not be worthy of our time to go for mate.  That is unless you want him.  If you want him, we will find him period.” Liam said.

“And what do you think?” I asked.

“I think we find and eliminate him or he will be back again, maybe not now but someday,” he said.

“I think we all agree, but we have time.  We can wait him out,” I said.

“You might not have a warning next time,” Liam said.

“Sweetie, this was no warning.  You are right though I might not be so lucky next time.  Still I think the Colonel is right.  If this man stops now, it would be a terrible waste of resources to hunt him down.  He might reveal himself later, so that no hunting is necessary,” I suggested.

“We think he had access to a lot of information about you,” Liam said.

“You mean cops in his pocket.  The only cops who acts hinky is Agent Morris of the SBI.  I will be keeping a lot closer eye on her.” I said.

“She has been reassigned to Capitol City, so you will have to move, if you want to keep an eye on her.”Liam said.

“So someone with enough pull to move her around like a chess piece is the puppet master.  Well what about the hitters,” I asked.

“Well, I suggested it might be time for a career change.  They said they had already got the message from my boss in Miami.  So you seem to have friends in several high places,” Liam said a little irritated.

“Well you know how it is, a girl can’t keep all her eggs in one basket,” I said.  I did wander how the mysterious man in Miami knew about a bike accident in Warren County.  It was nice to know that he wasn’t the puppet master.  Well I couldn’t be absolutely sure those guys had a ton of money and most anyone was corruptible, if the price were right.

“I think we should go back to normal and just see if anything stands out.  I will pay more attention to who pays attention to me,” I promised.

“You know that scrape on your cheek make you look a little exotic,” Liam said with a smile.

“Well when I contort my face it hurts a little, so I’m not giving blow jobs for a while,” I explained.

“Now you know that wasn’t what I meant.”  He noticed how I looked at him then added, “Well maybe a little.” He and I shared a laugh again.

“So you staying?” I asked.

“Do you need me.  The Colonel called and asked me to go out and stay a night or two at the camp.  Just to check how well things were going to work,” Liam informed me.

“It looks a lot like they did a good job up there,” I suggested.  “The compound isn’t pretty but I expect it wasn’t meant to be,” I said.  “I was surprised how the cabins all looked to be be weathered wood siding.  That couldn’t have been easy to pull off.”

“Not as hard as you think.  They had shutters to cover the screens in the winter and during rainstorms when they were camping.  They used those for siding and they tore down two cabins for materials to use as well.  So it all looks original but we can use it year round.  So if you don’t mind, I’m going to spend a few days alone in the camp,” he said.

“As long as you don’t get caught, no one will ask questions,” I said.  I suspected that it was a cover for something else.

“Can’t fool you, but you have no need to know.  Now are you going to eat without that little Latina girl feeding you?” Liam asked.

“Of course I am.  I can even drive in a couple of days and then I’m going to get some real food,” I said.

“What can I get you before I leave?” he asked.

“A couple of law rockets to keep the drive clear,” I said.

“Not a bad idea, but the Sheriff might raid you again,” he said.

“How did you know about that?” I asked.

“Attorney client privilege isn’t what it used to be,” he said.

“What made her talk,” I asked.

“Well we didn’t use a water board on her.  We explained someone tried to kill you and if she had any information it would help us find the person responsible.  Anything out of the ordinary.  After we convinced her you had been treated at the clinic, and were bedridden at the pub, she rolled like a hula hoop,” Liam said.

“I want to know how you knew about hula hoops,” I asked.  I didn’t mind Rita breaking the code.  It was for a good cause.

“Go, do what you do, Liam.  I will be fine,” I said.  With that I got a kiss on the cheek and he was gone.  I had some bad ass friends, and I was damn glad of it.  I was even glad the mysterious man from Miami was my friend.  He put the word on the hit men, so that we didn’t have to kill them.  It was all in all a good deal.  I mean they weren’t getting off without any consequences or anything.  They both got a taste of their own medicine.

I shook my head to clear it of those thoughts, and of the men who had tried to kill me.  I had been in the sights of men who wanted to kill me before.  One thing about being in a combat situation, when you are young.  You do learn early that you will never be able to kill all the people who want to kill you.  Because there will never be a shortage of people, who want you out of the way.  I managed to close the book on it for the time being.  If I ever found out who was pulling the strings, he was one dead mother fucker.  I was not however going to allow it to eat me alive.

I moved from grand thoughts to what I was going to have for dinner.  It was only two in the afternoon and I was already thinking of dinner.  I decided not to decide.  I decided to go to bed instead.  I locked the place down and put my ass to bed.  I was a little nervous and I couldn’t sleep.  I just wasn’t confident that someone wouldn’t be sneaking up the drive to do me in.  There were so many ways to do it.  Those guys had stolen my peace of mind.

I needed a place to stay where I wouldn’t be alone.  I might never be comfortable alone again.  I forgot the nap and moved to the living room where I could monitor the gate with the web cam feed.  When I got hungry I ordered a pizza delivery.  I watching him all the way up the drive.  I met him at the door and gave him a $20 bill.  I waved off any change.  I fell asleep later that night from pure exhaustion and two glass of the green dragon.

I didn’t wake at 5AM the next morning it was more like 10AM when I finally came alive.  I was still sore but it was controllable with a little Aleve.  By 11AM I had mastered the pain and was ready to try my luck at breakfast.  I had to go to the 24hr breakfast house but I managed some eggs and sausage.  I didn’t think I was up to the strain of cutting bacon yet.

It was’t a Hardee’s biscuit, but it was good for what it was.  After breakfast I checked the yellow pages sitting in the Hardee’s parking lot with a cup of their coffee.  I was also logged onto their WIFI.  I found through the online yellow pages a fence builder in Dobson.  I called and asked them how busy they were.  I had a rush job I needed done right away.  Hell I needed it started that very day as a matter of fact.  The man assured me he could have a crew start to remove my drive gate from the posts, then move it up the drive twenty feet, to re- anchor it as it had been before.  He understood that the posts gate would have to be replaced, since I didn’t want to remove the old posts at the road.

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sylvia 232

  1. cindypress says:

    so walt how was your guess…

    • Walt says:

      You snockered me. If I had remember the few that have been off’d by the Obama gang I should have thought of Randal, but I didn’t. I had another man in mind who has a lot to hide that she knows about and could ruin him. Thus he was my guess. I’ll wait, he could still be the next Jack in the Box to pop out.

      • cindypress says:

        I had a feeling Randal Davis was obscure enough to fool even the best of you. To be honest I pull him out of my back side but he fit the profile I needed when I started looking for a perp.

  2. jackballs57 says:

    Good Morning Another fine chapter. Suspense still lingers and more open directions to go. Very nice. Thanks

  3. Jan Trevor says:

    Nice story but you really do need a final editor.

    • cindypress says:

      I get that a lot from new readers but thanks for the advice.

      • Makes two of us that get that kind of advise. LOL Jack

      • cindypress says:

        I try to be cool. .I do hear it a lot. I wonder if they think. I have been doing this for over a year but their saying it is going to somehow make me change now. I mean surely after five hundred daily episodes surely they dont think they are the first to mention that. lol

    • Walt says:

      It’s understandable when one is new to the story. Once you understand the situation you overlook it like the rest of us who have been here through several stories. Also know that Sylvia is a country girl and doesn’t speak like an English Professor. She speaks her every day country colloquialisms which is why we love her.

      However, may I suggest you download the edited copies I post daily. I try to post them before noon each day but occasionally it may be afternoon depending on real life. Either way, relax and enjoy the story.

      pinchem.net/stories/carniegirl.htm

      • cindypress says:

        Make you a deal you do you thing on them, and email them to me at this address I check it several times a day. I will repost them unedited by me to replace my version as I have no ego on this. I write them to write. I can keep my copy and post your copy for a trial period of say a week starting today. See what the readers want to do. it’s no trouble that way since I finally learned to edit them. the walt version will only be available on wordpress though sol is a pain to edit. ADD EDITED BY WALT to the title LINE so everyone know of your hard work.

      • Walt says:

        OK working on it right now.

      • cindypress says:

        good I’ll keep an eye out for it.

  4. KO says:

    No matter, and like I’ve said before, I LOVE your writing, warts and all! There is no way that I, or most of the folks here reading, could ever come close to your accomplishments for the sheer number of stories and the word count. HOLY FREAKIN’ MOLY! Love you and everything that you do for us day in and day out.
    While I’m on my soapbox – fuckem’! If they don’t like it, PISS OFF! NO ONE is forcing them to read this or anyone eles’s work.
    OK, so I think I’m done . . . . for now at least!
    Thanks for everything and keep up the great work!!!

Leave a Reply

