Looking for a voice

Since this is a serial novel and this particular part of the new novel has just started, now would be a great time for someone to do a nice thing.

 

“If someone would like to record this serial novel and post those recording on a site of their own, I would encourage you to do so.  Man Or Woman it makes no difference to me.

 

Just a thought. cindy

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Looking for a voice

  1. Walt says:

    I may be able to do this since I did work in radio/TV broadcasting. I can get my voice into my computer with the headset/microphone. Recording it is the problem. Have to find a program to do that with.

    If anyone knows of a program please let me know.

  2. cindypress says:

    That would be great . I used to have a little window program to just record voice like a cell phone but when I went to Lenus I gave up all that.

  3. Bob says:

    Look into Audacity for voice recording and editing. It’s free and a pretty decent product.

    • Walt says:

      Thanks Bob. My friend in AZ recommended the same program and gave me the link to it. So that is what I am using. Have to also learn the quirks of it as with any new program. But I think it will work out. Love the Price!!! (smile)

  4. Walt says:

    Luckily I found a program, thanks to a friend in AZ. Now I’m trying to work out the kinks. On my first run, I used wav and Chapter 1 turned out to be 146 megs. Switching to mp3 it’s now down to 13 megs long, about 13 minutes. I hope to find a way to get the byte count down lower but haven’t found the way yet.

    I had to read through it several times and add a little or leave out a word so that it flows voice wise. Like in the beginning I had open with “Hi I’m Sylvia Porter and was just elected Sheriff of Warren County”

    Otherwise they wouldn’t know who was who in the first four paragraphs. I also have to explain SBI as State Bureau of Investigations, and explain each character if it isn’t already included in the story.

    I’ll do a final copy of it tomorrow then send it to you to see if it’s good, bad, indifferent, crappy or whatever. Then we can go from there. Too bad I don’t have the deep husky voice of a good broadcaster but at least I can enunciate.

    Walt

    • cindypress says:

      If it were me I would get me a memory stick to use as storage and not store it on my computer and waste its memory. I would also not archive it on my computer. We could open it on a different word press account and archive it there.

      I would want to keep a copy though so the flash drives are probably the best or maybe find some free on line storage for it other than word press if the try to keep you space limited.

  5. Walt says:

    Good idea on finding a place to store them. At 13 to 15 megs, compared to 10 to 15 kb per chapter it will eventually add up to a tidy sum. .

    It would have to be one heck of a big memory stick. I have an 8 gig one (biggest one locally) and this first chapter is 13 gigs, they may not be practical.

    Back to work to get more bugs worked out.

  6. Walt says:

    Good news and bad news.

    The good news is that I knew I had a video converter but didn’t realize it until I looked at it and it also converts audio. Lo and behold I got the 13 megs of Chapter 1 down to 3 megs. It also converted the 146 meg WAV file down to 3 megs. Wow, big saving on space.

    Bad news is I’ve been out of broadcasting so long I’ve lost my ‘broadcast voice’. So I’m working on my inflections and enunciations. I’m trying to put in the inflections to keep from the boring monotone voice that puts people to sleep. Might need another day or two to work on it. Practice practice practice.

    • cindypress says:

      This little story is going to become a cottage industry. Just figure out how to integrate everyone who has a story to tell into the flow.

  7. Steve says:

    I’ve been reading the story since it first posted……great story: some grammatical and other minor errors, but a really great story. Would make an interesting television series…….but it would have to be aired on an adult channel!!!

    • cindypress says:

      Thank you so much and believe it or not I have written it in episode for so that it would be done that way. Each two or three posts is a complete segment. But you are also right the adult parts are essential to tell us who she is. Free spirited without being too slutty.

Leave a Reply

