Sheriff Porter 25 (edited)

Sheriff Porter 25

The sound in the hallway surprised even me.  Tommy Kilborn pointed the pistol at me and waited.  His attention was on the door.  When the doorway filled with something out of a video game, I had the derringer in my hand.  Kilborn jerked a little when the .22 mag hit him, then his face exploded when the .45 caliber hollow point struck him.

I sat down hard, and Liam removed his helmet.  “Andrew is out in the parking lot making nice with the local cops.  Lucky one of your deputies knew I was on the way with our ‘dark swat team’,” he said.

“How did you know he wouldn’t shoot me?” I asked.

“I didn’t really know.  All the studies say the instinct is to go for the threat first.  As you can see that is what I expected,” he explained.

“You know this means I have to swear you in a deputy sheriff auxiliary or something,” I said.

“Oh my, I work for you now do I?” he said laughing.

“Let’s go explain why we executed Tommy Kilborn,” I said.

“Simple he pulled a gun on you.  That’s enough to get anyone killed at least once,” he said.

I tried not to think that way when the regular deputies showed up.  Protocol required the deputies to call the SBI to investigate an officer involved shooting, since we had no internal affairs.

Liam and I had been separated after we got our stories straight.  One of the things I had done on day one of my administration was to sign Liam, Andrew, and the Brit up as special volunteer deputies.  So we were covered at least I hoped so.

Two hours passed before Morris walked into the conference room.  “Well agent Morris good to see you,” I said.

“You have no idea how good it is to see you here like this,” she said.

“So what you going to charge me with?” I asked.

“I’m not sure yet.  Why don’t we start with why you walked into that room?” she asked.

“I thought you knew I traded myself for ten kids,” I said.  “Surely you would have done the same thing.”

“What I would or would not do is of not consequence here.  I want to know why he asked for you?” she said.

“Well he thought he could get a better deal with the federal prosecutor, than he could from us local people.  He wanted me to intercede for him.  If I’m not mistaken she was on the way down for a meeting, when Tommy Kilborn tragically died.”

“He tragically died, when you and your mercenary friend killed him,” Morris said.

“He had every chance to surrender, but he chose to point a gun at Logan,” I said.

“You mean Liam Logan a known mercenary,” Morris said.

“If you can arrest him for being a mercenary have at it.  I know nothing about that, or of any law against it.  As far as I was concerned, some very well trained men volunteered to be special deputies.  Yes, I did call them in to help with this situation.  At the time of this incident they were acting as Deputy Sheriff’s of Warren County.  Now agent Morris, I have cooperated.  I have given you my statement, if you wish to question me like a suspect in some crime, I’ll call my lawyer Rita.”

“I think Liam has cooperated.  I am sure he gave you a statement.  I am pretty sure if you started to question him like a suspect in some crime he will call the company lawyer.  So that means, we have given you our statements.  If you want to hold either of us have at it.  If not, I’m going to The Brit’s Pub and have a beer.  If you want to come along, I’m buying to celebrate being alive.”  I said it as I got up and walked out of the room.

I smelled like a wet dog, but I went to The Brit’s just as I told Morris I planned to do.  We had about three beers.  I might have stayed for more, but everyone remarked on how bad I smelled.  Since no one wanted to be near me, I went home.  I took a shower.  I also broke down and cried in the shower.  I got out when the water turned lukewarm.  I could see Tommy Kilborn’s face explode every time I closed my eyes.  There was no sense trying to sleep.  I stayed on the computer till I was totally exhausted.  I finally tried to sleep and found that it wasn’t difficult, since I was drunk on green dragon and exhausted emotionally and physically.

I had no idea why Tommy had affected me so much.  He wasn’t the first person I had seen killed.  He wasn’t even the first one I had personally killed.  He wasn’t even close.  Hell I had tortured people to death, but I had always thought I was on god’s side.

The difference was I might have been doing it to save my own ass.  This time I might have been doing it to shut him up and that was a bad thing, if I did it for that reason.  Then I thought about it again.  Jamison had given us all the same information Tommy was offering me.  So I didn’t allow anyone to get away by killing him.  Even if I hadn’t shot him, he pointed his gun and me and Liam was going to do it anyway.  Hell before Tommy hit the ground Liam had blown his face off.  Screw it, I thought.  Then I turned over and forgave myself before I drifted off to sleep.

The next morning was Saturday and the news crew was waiting at the edge of my driveway.  They had called several times I was sure, but the phone was off.  I had to face them it was all about the politics now.  I had to get my side out before Webster and his machine went to work on me.  I knew that without being told.  I had seen them work, when I worked for the previous Sheriff.

Before I went out of the house I called Mrs. West.  “Good morning, is anything happening there?” I asked.

“Lots of calls from the parents of those kids thanking you.  They have been all over the cable’s local TV.  I don’t think the other side is going to make any statements at all.” she said.

“Well maybe I can keep my job another day or two,” I said.

“I would say you could.  Now just don’t make any foolish statements.  Try to control that wise ass mouth of yours,” she said.

“You can’t talk to me like that,” I said with a laugh.

“Of course I can.  Someone has to reign you in,” she said.

“All right mother, I will play nice,” I said.

I got in the truck and drove to the edge of the driveway.  I had to get out to shut the gate behind me.

“Sheriff Porter, there is a rumor you were rescued by a man in full body armor is that true?” The news bitch from the local TV asked.

“I was rescued by a member of my department.  Turns out we didn’t need the SBI or the FBI we did just fine with our own resources,” I said.  “Now if you will forgive me I have to go to work.”

“One more questions please, I’m Wendy Roberts of ABC news in Capitol city,” she said.

“Since you came so far one question,” I replied.

“Is it true that the Special Deputy who rescued you was a Mercenary?” Wendy asked with a smart ass grin.

I really had to struggle to keep my cool.  I knew Mrs. West was right.  So I said simply,  “You would have to ask Mr. Logan that.  It is none of my business and probably none of yours.  He was there to help out the Deputies of Warren County, when we needed him.  That’s all I find pertinent to this discussion.  Now that really is all.”

I drove off in my underpowered candy cane red pickup.  I wished I had one of those bullet proof SUV’s from the swamp.  I would likely need it just to get into the courthouse.

I had a bag with a clean workout suit in it.  I had decided to workout and shower at the courthouse.  It would be inconvenient, but at least I would be available even more than I was at present.

“Well I see you did pretty well till you got to that Wendy person,” Mrs. West said.  “Then you blew it bad.”

“Well it isn’t any of their business.  I expect someone else will tell her that as well,” I said.

“Then you should have let them tell her first,” Mrs. West said.

“Of course you are right Mrs. West.  I will do better next time,” I promised.

“At least you didn’t tell her to fuck off,” Mrs. West said.

“No but I came close to it,” I said.

“You know not many counties have a black ops swat team,” Osborn said from my waiting room.

“Osborn are you eaves dropping?” Mrs. West asked.

“Yes Ma’am, I came by to see if the Sheriff is alright,” she said.  “I really couldn’t help the eavesdropping.  They are past the soccer mom’s praise, now they are asking if Tommy had to die.”

“Let them ask if they want to know,” I said.  “You want me to wait till three to workout with you?”

“Sure, I can stand the exposure now that I have a better body.  I’m only fifteen pounds over my perfect weight,” Osborn said.  “You know we are going to get ambushed by that Wendy person.  She is still in town trying to find some dirt, I think.”

“I think I should invite her to a memorial service for Tommy.  She can see how the citizens of my County feel about Tommy Kilborn.  He wasn’t even a resident,” I said.

“I’ll see you at three Sheriff,” Osborn said walking out the door.

I saw the County Manager next.  He wanted to tell me what a hell of a job I was doing.  I checked my back when he left.  There were no knives.

I stayed in and took care of paperwork.  Most of it was make work Mrs. West found for me to do.  I knew she was keeping me away from the press as best she could.  But when 3 PM came I went down to meet Osborn.  We took my car to the softball field.

“Could I ask a few questions?” Wendy Roberts asked.

“Only if you run along with us,” I said.  With that Osborn and I took off on the run.  Once we were out of sight our pace slowed.

“Do you think she will still be there when we finish?” Osborn asked.

“I wouldn’t be surprised,” I said.  The TV van was in the parking lot when Osborn finished her five laps.  I went on for two more before I quit.  The news crew was set up at the bleachers talking to Osborn but waiting for me.  It was ambush journalism at it’s worst.

“Right Osborn lets go, Reggie waits for no woman,” I said.  To my amazement Wendy followed us to the gym and brought her camera crew inside.  She interviewed boxers while Osborn and I worked the bags.  I worked the heavy bag and she worked the speed bag.  Her workout was much more entertaining than mine.

“What did you think when you heard the Sheriff was in a hostage situation?” she asked Reggie.

“I prayed for the poor son of a bitch that took her hostage.  I was pretty sure he had stepped in some shit, he couldn’t wipe off.  I was right too,” Reggie replied.

“Got that right,” one of the others said.

“I heard he was one of them child molesters.  He got what he deserved, if you ask me.”  That one had a rattlesnake tattoo on his neck.

“If I give you an interview, will you promise not to use those quotes?” I asked.

“Yeah I promise just the gym footage, and you and your friend hitting the bag,” she said.

“That is one of my Deputies.  I encourage her to work out.  That’s all there is between us.  You imply anything else and I have a damn good lawyer that I will loan her.  Do I make myself clear?”

“You do,” she said.

Edited by Walt

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sheriff Porter 25 (edited)

  1. jack says:

    She will have to be up on her diplomatic skills with the news lady. It’s going to take a fine touch and walk a fine line. Let’s hope for the best. And a great end for the Tommy. Thanks

  2. cindypress says:

    Warren County where their really is justice.

  3. Walt says:

    I think I’m starting to see the collusion here. Morris has it in for Sylvia. Last contact with Agent Mission is she is trying to prove Sylvia incompetent. So I wonder if there isn’t collusion between SBI, Webster and the previous Sheriff, thus the reason they want Sylvia out. I’ll bet now SBI will be further pissed because Sylvia showed she didn’t need them to solve a hostage crisis. From the questions the news whore asked it sounded like her “rumors” were coming directly from Morris’ earlier comments to Sylvia. Ahhhh the web we weave…….!

  4. cindypress says:

    It’s even worse than you imagine lol

    • Walt says:

      I can imagine it getting worse. But then the old Sheriff and Webster end up in prison, Morris meets the thrashing machine, Mission is demoted to small town police chief, and Sylvia takes over SBI with Swamp Dog as backup and Miami has Apoplexy. Wheeeeeee!

  5. jackballs57 says:

    I posted another chapter to my story tonight.
    http://www.bjjonesmylife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

