Sheriff Porter 39 (edited)

Sheriff Porter 39

“How did you know?” she asked.

“There were too many coincidences.  The boats just happened to be off shore when he showed up there.  You happened to get me away at just the right time.  Too many coincidences, so you have to be in on it.  You had to speak pretty good English to know what we were saying to take advantage of the weaknesses.  It just dumped it all on your doorstep.  Now, I don’t know or care about your money, what I care about is my reputation for never having lost a client.  So I’m going to bring him back.  What I really want to know is why he ran.”

“We could not get into the United States because of what happened in our homeland years ago.  We could get in to testify before the UN on war crimes.  We agreed to name names, but we don’t know anything.  When my husband tells the UN that, they will ship us home and probably to a prison.”

“So we get in this country and we run.  Since we are paying you to hide us, we expect to walk away from here.  Instead you demand we stay here until we testify as a condition of letting us into the country.”

“On the first night we heard you argue about the threats all being from the outside.  So Tobias decided to see what he could arrange.  We would run away find a place to settle, buy new identifications and we just stay.  Illegals are no big deal to your government.”

“My task was to distract the compound sitter, which I am sorry to say was you.  Tobias thought you would be perfect.  He doesn’t understand that women understand schemes better than men.  We are the number one schemers,” she said.

“Well, you are going back to the old country no matter what.  So what can you tell me, and remember I have no problem using this cleaver,” I said.

“Oh I do believe you, that is why Tobias told me nothing,” she said.

“Bullshit, you would never have led me into those woods without a plan to get you out as well,” I informed her.

“He said he would work out something once he was settled.  He left me one bank account with enough money for bribes,” she said.  “That is the one I was moving around earlier.”

“He was never intending to come back for you.  It is good that he left you money, but I bet you find he tried to block it but was too late.  He left money, so that you wouldn’t talk.  Once he doesn’t need you, he will try to grab that money as well.  If that didn’t at least cross your mind, you wouldn’t have moved it when I suggested it.”

“Who provided the boats?” I asked.

“Tobias never told me.  He didn’t want you to force me to talk,” Ginger said.

“Ginger right about now you want to be turned over to the authorities.  Because I am seriously thinking I don’t need you any more.  When I am sure I have all the information from you, if one of two things.  If you tell me everything you know, and convince me that you have, I will turn you over to the FBI.  If on the other hand, I have to damage you to get that information.  I can’t very well deliver damaged merchandise to the FBI now can I?”

I waited a long time for her to rethink her position.  “Where was he going from here?” I asked.

“Somewhere in Florida.  I swear,” she said trying to win favor with me.  “That is all the told me he didn’t even know where.”

“Who supplied the boats?” I asked.

“I honestly do not know,” she said.

“How did Fred contact them?” I asked.  “Before you answer you better hope I’m going to believe you.”

“He had the address of a few mercenaries from our country, ones who fled to the states after the rebellion,” she said.

“Which one did he call?” I asked.

“He didn’t call anyone.  He handled it all on the Internet,” she said.  “He took his Netbook with him when he left.”

“You will give me his contact information now,” I said making it obvious that things were about to take a turn for the more violent.

“I can’t.  You can do anything but I still won’t tell,” she said.

“You will talk.  It’s just a matter of how many body parts you have left.”  Without another word, and with a single blow, I swung the cleaver to bury itself in the table top.  I also grabbed her pinkie finger and broke it.  I imagine the pain was substantial but at least the finger would heal and I proved the point.  She screamed and the guard rushed in.

“Everything is fine.  She has about nine more joints to go,” I said to the guard.

I held my breakfast down barely.  I was glad we had skipped lunch.  I wasn’t real sure that I could do it again, even if she didn’t talk.

“How are you going to contact him, and who furnished the boats?” I asked.

“I don’t know who furnished the boats, but I know he is a Mercenary from the old country.  He is some kind of gangster here I think.  I swear that is all I know,” she said.

“How do you plan to contact him?”

“I can’t tell you that,” she said.

“I trust you on that, but I can’t turn you over the FBI now.  So if you have no more information for me, I guess I will have to kill you.  After that I will feed you to the fish out there in the lake,” I said.  I removed the pistol and got ready to kill her.  I was not nearly as bothered by a dead body as one screaming in pain.

“Wait, if I tell you how to find him, will you let me leave,” she asked.

“Of course, not right away, but you won’t be harmed.  I promise.”  It was all bullshit, but she wanted to believe it and it made her easier to control.

The man at the door asked, “What about that finger?”

“Get your medic to splint it.  That will save the rest of it.  I might need to talk to her again,” I said.

“The sergeant major said to tell you that there is a Mr. Wilson at the main office for you,” he explained.

“Right,” I said and walked quickly to the main building.

“Wilson,” I said when I got to the reception area.  “Do you have your kit in the car?”

“Yes, most of what I would need for anything,” he said.

“Good.  I want you to take a look at a vacant field before dark.  A pick up truck pulled in there.  A man took two boats from the truck, then left it there.  After about an hour he came back.  The truck sat there empty the whole time the boats were gone.  At least it looked empty.  Find out what you can about it please.  No reports just tell me and I’ll make notes.”

“Can do Sheriff,” he said.

“I’m not the Sheriff anymore Wilson.  You know that,” I said.

“Yeah, well you will always be the real Sheriff,” he said.

“Get the hell across the lake and tell me something,” I said.

I dialed the phone, “Okay geek tell me something good,” I said.

“All I can tell you is the car had a license plate from New Jersey.  I could make out enough of the slogan to determine it said garden state.” he said.

“Okay hit the National Crime Data Base and look for gangsters from the same former Soviet block country as Fred.  Liam will give you the old name of it, if you need it.  Get me the gangsters from New Jersey or New York.  The Guy was on the short list of a guy with war crimes experiences,” I informed the geek.  “That may help.”

I held the phone till he came back on.  “I have three on the FBI data base of known former foreign agents.  That’s the only way they are listed.”

“Okay send me photos of each and we will get them into the hands of the men canvassing the motels and gas stations.  By the way did you follow Fred’s money?” I asked.

“Yes I did, wait a minute let me cross check these guys with recent transactions,” he suggested.  I waited until he came back again.  “Fred sent ten grand to one of them.  I can’t begin to read his name, but he is third on the list.”

“You are the best,” I said.

“Thanks, does this mean…”  I cut him off before he could ask.

“Take this list of names and pictures to Ginger,” I said to one of the permanent party who had recently returned from the canvas.”  Then get back out to the motels with this picture.  They might not have noticed the truck, but they might know his face.

I dialed the geek again, “Did you get a track on the notebook yet?”

“No the notebook is harder to trace than a cell phone.  Your information on the email address helped though.  I have tried to follow it.  He seems to be talking to people in Florida a lot.”

“Ginger said he talked about Florida a lot, but I didn’t believe it.  I thought it was just to throw us off,” I said.

“Well he was hooked up to a WIFI in a Mcdonald’s in South Carolina about an hour after you called me the first time.  I haven’t heard from him lately.”

“Okay Geek go back to your cave,” I said.

“Not a cave Sylvia.  It’s a lair under the bridge,” he said with a laugh.

“Okay, keep checking on Fred and let me know where your next contact is.  Maybe I can get a lead on him.”

I looked up and Osborn stood looking down on me.  She had lost even more weight.  She had her hair dyed.  I knew that it was most unlikely, but she looked as thought she had a boob job.  In other words she was a knock out.  The guys were all staring at her like she was a tee bone steak and they hadn’t had a full meal in months.

“Osborn is Simpson going to kick my ass for stealing you away?” I asked.

“He might not like it much,” she said,  “but who cares?”

“I will, if he comes here looking for you, like a pissed off boyfriend,” I said and laughed.

“He wishes he was my boyfriend,” she said.  “So what do I do now?”

“Talk to these guys and find out what they have done.  Then redo it all till we catch a break,” I said.

Wilson showed up just before dark.  “Guess what Silvia?” he asked.

“He dropped his check book?” I asked wistfully.

“Not exactly but he did leave his signature.  He smoked a big blunt cigar.”  Wilson held up the plastic bag.  “You bring me a body and we can match it up.”

“I will be by with that fishing rod before the weekend.  You have my word,” I said.

“I never doubted it for a minute,” Wilson said then left.

My phone rang a few minutes later.  I wasn’t even getting a moment to take a deep breath.  “Hello Osborn what you got,” I asked.

“If you get here quick, you can talk to your Russian,” she said.

“Where is here?” I asked.  To which she gave me a name and address of a mom and pop motel.  Well it would have been a mom and pop twenty years ago.  Now it was run by Middle Eastern refugees.

“I do not want any trouble,” he said when I drove up.

“The only trouble you are going to have is, if you get in my face again.”  I then turned my attention to Osborn.  “Osborn go with this dick head and keep him company while we take care of this.  Do not let him use the phone, shoot him if you must.”  I made damn sure he heard my instruction to Osborn.

Edited by Walt

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sheriff Porter 39 (edited)

  1. jackballs57 says:

    Damn. Now that was some hard hitting fast moving action. Sylvia in control and Osborn hotter than ever. THANKS.

  2. Walt says:

    Don’t mess with Sylvia when she interrogates you. It could be hazardous to your health. I thought it was interesting that previously Sylvia gets calls from “the Weatherman voice” from Miami and now Fred runs to Miami. Hmmmmmmmmm.

    • cindypress says:

      I have no idea why fred went to a warmer part of the country he would be more comfortable in Alaska I think.

  3. Walt says:

    For readers who recently joined the story, if you need back copies of the Edited versions you can get them by Chapter or the entire story Chapter 1 through 39 (today’s Chapter) at:
    pinchem.net/stories/carniegirl.htm

Leave a Reply

