Sheriff Porter 74 (edited)

If this then that

“First of all Sylvia, EZ lived within twenty five miles of Jefferson Island most all his life.  He was living around New Wales all of those five years.  He has been in trouble with the law, but he has cleaned up his act.  Had his share of woman troubles, but there was no sign of hostility issues.  You can’t say the same for Brian.  But there is no connection between them.  If they ever met, I can’t tell from their cyber footprints,” Wilson said.

“Okay I gave him some cock and bull story about needing a picture for the insurance files.  So stand him against a plain background,” I suggested.

Then I went back into the house to make more phone calls.  I came up with another place to look for a grass field.  It was a tax foreclosure of a tiny farm.  Actually the owner had sold off a lot of it trying to keep it going.  In the end he just gave up and walked away.  He kept his chicken business until the very end.  They gave him the chance to turn a profit on the least amount of land.  In the end he lost even that on a tax foreclosure.

I called my financial advisor and asked him to check it out for me.  It was barely enough land, but it was in the right configurations.  The chicken houses had been end to end and each one was about a third the length of a football filed so the whole stretch of empty space was about one hundred and twenty five yards of flat ground.  I had no idea what it was worth on the open market, so that’s why I had the advisers look at it.

I was looking through photographs of ultra light aircraft on the net when EZ’s voice came through the air.  “Ahoy aboard the barge,” he said.

I walked on to the second story deck.  “Ahoy yourself,” I said.

“Did Wilson get you all taken care of?” I asked.

“Yep, I’m going now to pick up the Wrecker and then go get a new contract signed.  One of the banks is looking to try out a new recovery company.  I already do Property Management on Foreclosures for them.”

“Well good luck keep me in the loop information wise,” I suggested.

Wilson and I were in the car and headed west toward Rock Hill when the conversation turned to EZ.  “So tell me Wilson, what do you think of EZ?” I asked.

“Hell I don’t like him,” Wilson said.

“Why?” I asked.

“Let’s see, he is tall, he is good looking, he could probably lift a car, and he has a good shot at a successful business.  What the hell is there to like?” he said.

“Well if you look at it that way,” I said and laughed.

“Actually for a muscle man, he is surprisingly good natured.  I don’t think he takes steroids, if that’s any help.  He is too even tempered.

“Not exactly what I had in mind.  From your research is he on the straight and narrow these days?” I asked.

“Best I can tell yes.  His uncle got him started in his current business and he had been adding businesses ever since.  Now that you put him into the recovery business he should do even better,” Wilson speculated.

“I didn’t put him in the business.  I leased a truck to him,” I explained.  “So what’s the deal on Dana does she know we are coming?”

“I couldn’t get her.  It’s the middle of the week surely she will be home or at work.  She manages a boutique for young hipity hop women,” he said.  He made it sound like an insult.  Sometimes I wondered how much he knew about me.  I also wondered it he were needling me.  I could take it, so it was more than okay.

An hour and a half after EZ left the pier we were in the driveway belonging to Dana Summers.  There was no car in the driveway, so even before I got out of the Honda I knew it was a waste of time.  Even so we knocked.  I checked the mailbox since she had a home delivery type box hanging on the outside wall.  There was mail but it appeared to all be from the same current delivery date.

“Well she is still living here,” I said.  “We can either wait for her or try to find her.”

“How about we go to the boutique.  If she isn’t there, or we can’t get a better lead we can come back,” Wilson suggested.

“Sounds right to me,” I agreed.  Wilson had the address and the GPS coordinates.  So we went right to it.  In a town the size of Rock Hill the little retail shop had to be struggling.

When we entered, I looked at the small inventory of pretty expensive things for her type store.  Since she was just the manager, she probably wouldn’t lose anything, when it went under.  It wasn’t an if it was going to fail, it was when it was going to fail.

I saw the very attractive though rather Goth looking young woman.  Her clothes were dark and pretty much out there.  “Hi my name is Sylvia Porter.  I’m looking for Dana Summers,” I stated.

“What you want?” the Goth girl asked.

“If you are Dana, I will be happy to tell you,” I said.

“Yeah, I’m Dana,” she said.

“Dana I’m going to be looking into what happened to you on Jefferson Island last year,” I informed her.

“Why,” she said.

“Because I live in New Wales and I want to know what is going on there,” I said.

“Did it happen to you?” she asked.

“Yeah, but I didn’t go to the police, so now I want to know the who and why of it all,” I suggested.

“I don’t really like to talk about it,” she said.

“I can certainly understand that,” I said.  “I’m the former Sheriff of Warren County, so I have a friend or two who can help me.  If you help me, we just might get this son of a bitch.”

“What do you want to know?” she asked.

“Well you have had time to think about it.  So tell me, why do you think it happened?” I asked.

“It’s really quite simple, they drugged me.  I didn’t realize it when I talked to those security officers, but since then I have had clearer memories,” she said.

“Do you have any idea who did it?” I asked.

“If I did I’d kill the son of a bitch,” she said.

“Would you recognize him if you saw him again?” I asked.

“I’m pretty sure that I couldn’t.  I was pretty foggy.  I just have a memory of a big man on me and him fucking me.  It was so big it hurt my mouth as well as my vagina,” she said.

I handed her my cell phone with four men’s pictures.  All but EZ were a photo array of actors.  Dana looked at them carefully then picked out one of the actors.

“He looks the most like him,” she said. “I was pretty confused by the whole thing.  The only thing I really remember was how large he was.  It was reinforced by the pain I felt.  So I know I didn’t imagine it.

We got a time line from her before we left.  “One last thing about him, did he have any tattoos or piercing?”

“No,” she said.  She seemed pretty definite about that.

“Give me a call if you think of anything,” I said handing her one of the Private Investigator’s cards.

“That was a waste,” Wilson said.

“Hey she ID a TV star, so it wasn’t a complete waste,” I said.

I felt some better since she hadn’t picked EZ out of the photo lineup.  If wasn’t much, but it was something.  It didn’t clear him, but I was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt for the time being.  I probably wouldn’t be using him as muscle though.  It wouldn’t do for him to know too much about my business, if I had to roll him up somehow.

The drive back to New Wales was an hour and a half of almost silence.  I did ask, “Wilson, put yourself in the rapists shoes for a minute.  Why are you only doing it twice a summer and what do you do in the winter, when there are no tourists?”

“That’s two questions.  I really can’t imagine what I would think or do,” he said being totally honest.  I on the other hand couldn’t get that perverse.

“Okay, but there is a reason he only does it a couple of times a summer.  The reason is that’s a false assumption.  What happened in those cases means he judged the book by its cover, which means he doesn’t know them.  Which means I wasn’t part of his plan.  I was out of his usually successful pattern and that will help bring him down,” I said.

“I don’t get it,” Wilson replied.

“The reason there are only a couple of reports a year is that he usually rapes girls who don’t bother to report it.  If you saw Dana in a night club would you be surprised to find she manages a shop and is normal in every respect except how she dresses?” I asked.

“I see what you mean.  If he doped and raped her, he would have thought she is a slut who would think that it was just some good dope,” Wilson guessed.

“Exactly and if she did report it, then it was a non violent offense one committed on Jefferson Island and therefore likely to be ignored.  For the good of the economy of the island association,” I said.  “If we assume he is on a two week cycle.  Then he goes to the bars and scouts out the girls.  It isn’t a problem to find what he is looking for.  A girl who is alone and acting slutty.  She is gonna get it anyway.  It might as well be him, he thinks.”

“Maybe he even carries some with him all the time just in case he runs into a likely prospect,” Wilson suggested.

“It would depend on his trigger.  If he does it for fun, he might carry drugs all the time.  If he is driven by an uncontrollable urge, he would save it for when the need is greatest.  The rest of the time, he would beat himself up for doing it at all.”

“The fact that it has gone on so long, would tend to put him in the true obsessed and generally sick category,” Wilson said getting into my ‘what if’ game.  “So you tell me something?”

“If I can,” I replied.

“Why would a man with a very large penis need to rape?” Wilson asked.

“Believe it or not, every woman doesn’t love a big cock.  He might even get rejected because of it.  I can’t imagine any man who saw fear in a woman’s eyes being upset.  If he doped them, he would get no last minute rejections,” I said.

“So you are saying, he may be raping them because he has a big cock.  I don’t believe that for a second,” Wilson said.

“That’s because you are a man, who obviously has a small one,” I said and laughed.

“I never had any complaints,” he said.

“What if you did get complaints though, or even a woman said no I can’t take that.  And what if one time you just didn’t stop and liked it,” I said.

“The thing that turns you to strangers is that fear of her telling.  Maybe one of the non strangers even threatened to tell, if he came near her again,” he said.  “Better to screw strangers and leave after you get off.”

“But by this time there is a great pressure on him not to be refused, so he finds out about Ruffies on the Internet,” I said.  “But he doesn’t know where to get them.  They aren’t really a street drug.

“He has to have some tie to the drug scene,” Wilson said.

“Damn I wish I had a white board,” I said.

“Give me a minute and I will have a computer generated white board,” he said.

“Divide it in half vertically one side is things we know.  The second side is things we are guessing,” I said.  It was time to let it stew a while.

Edited by Walt

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sheriff Porter 74 (edited)

  1. anna says:

    Damn those big penises

    • cindypress says:

      I never had one large enough to cause a pain if I was lubricated but I hear they can Hurt and tear their way inside.

  2. jack says:

    LOL Wish i had even half of that problem.

  3. jack says:

    Better be a big white board. Lots of what if’s and possibilities. Brian should ba able to name the supplier. Might have to feed him to the fish to find out. Oh the tangled web. Slyvia and Wilson might have to bar flies for a few weeks to see makes regular visits.

Leave a Reply

