Sheriff Porter 83 (edited)

The Birds

When I got back to New Wales, it was early enough to return EZ’s car, so I called him.  “EZ, where the hell are you?” I asked when he came on the phone.

“I’m about to grab a car,” he said.

“Repo or stealing it?” I asked.

“Very funny, almost as funny as the lady who owes me money being in jail,” he said.

“I wasn’t in jail.  I was being questioned by the police.  Cops tend to be very careful when arresting me these days.  The lotto winner story is the worst kept secret in history,” I said.

“Yeah, I can imagine.  So, you got my car?” he asked.

“I thought for sure I would have to have this piece of shit towed home, but I’m back in town.  If you meet me somewhere, we can swap cars now.  If you would rather you can come by tomorrow and we can swap them.  If you wait till after ten, I will have your money,” I said.

“You want to have dinner with me tonight?” he asked.

“I already ate,” I lied.

“Okay tomorrow will be fine.  I kind of like this Honda,” he said.

“See you after 10 AM,” I said and hung up on him.

I drove to the marina where Wilson was waiting for me.  “Welcome back Sylvia,” he said.

“Thanks Wilson, so what is happening on the home front?” I asked.

“I went through all Brian’s burner phone calls, but they are all about boats.  He just isn’t selling or buying Ruffies, but the stolen boat business is booming.”

“I thought we rolled him up already,” I said.

“We dropped the dime a couple of days ago, but the sheriff didn’t do anything yet.  Want me to hack the sheriff’s phones?” Wilson asked.

“Don’t bother we will give him another week, then we will drop a dime to the SBI,” I said.

“You gonna call Mission?” he asked.

“No if we do it, we go anonymous since I’m no longer on her Christmas card list,” I said.  “Just to change the subject, have you checked the bar footage.”

“No, I thought we would get some popcorn and view the film together.  You might see something I would miss,” Wilson said.

“Wait till after dark, if we are going to pretend to be in the movies,” I said.  “In the meantime let’s go get something to eat.”

“I haven’t tried it yet, but they say that Captain Jack’s Seafood Restaurant has great shrimp,” he said.

“I’ve been there and they do.”  Wilson looked hurt, so I added,  “It was before you came down Wilson.”

“Okay, then let’s go there,” he said.

After dinner we stopped for some cokes and a bag of ice from the pier and of course caramel popcorn.  I would have to run some extra miles for all that sugar and sugar substitute.

We were on the last night of film before our return when Wilson and I both saw him at the same time.  “Son of a bitch,” I said.  “He could be our man.”

“I have never seen him there before,” Wilson said.  “He is very well dressed, even though he is large, with very short hair.  The victims description was a large, scruffy bald male.”

“He is a large male with a more or less bald head.  Put him in dirty jeans and a sweat shirt and he is scruffy,” I said.  “Wilson, one of us has to get a look at his cock.”

“It sure as hell ain’t gonna be me,” he said.

“Then will it offend your male sensibility to determine his name?” I asked.  Wilson fast forwarded the film and we saw him pay his tab in cash.

“He didn’t leave an electronic trail,” Wilson said.

“Those two are your friends, so ask them the guy’s name and where he lives,” I suggested.

“Okay I’ll make a print from the film and ask them if they know him,” Wilson suggested.

“Don’t press them Wilson.  They may or may not know what he is up to,” I suggested.  “We really don’t need them to upset him so that he runs.”

“You should ask them,” he suggested.

“Let me think a minute,” I said.  I walked out onto the deck and paced back and forth.  Then it came to me.  I went back inside and said.  “Ask mom not Chrissy,” I said.

“Why?” he asked.

“Because if he is the one, Chrissy at least knows he is a source for Ruffies,” I said.

“What the hell are you talking about?” Wilson said.

“Okay for one thing, you have to assume I’m not crazy and I was drugged the night I spent with her and Brian.  If Brian isn’t the one who doped me Chrissy is.  How much she knows is questionable, but she definitely knew who is the source for Ruffies.”

“Could she have been the one doing it?” Wilson asked.

“Is she involved with a serial rapist, I doubt it, but who knows.  I certainly was not the right type.  I’m thinking it was personal with me.  He is just a psycho,” I suggested.

“Bullshit, you think she doped you, so she has to know who, and what he is.  He supplied the Ruffies, so he knows who and what you are,” Wilson said.

“Not necessarily,” I said.  “Yeah, I figured if Brian didn’t do it, then she doped me.  How much she knows about the others, I don’t know.  So we sweat her and she tells big dick and he runs.  We need to get to him before he finds out, if he is big dick.”

“You never saw him, maybe he never saw you,” Wilson suggested.

“I’m too tired to play what if tonight.  Why don’t we take another run at it when we wake up tomorrow?  Maybe a fresh mind will put a hurt on him.

I sat with my computer and kept in the back of my mind that Wilson next door could hear me moan, but after five minutes of trying to stifle it, I thought, what the hell he probably enjoys it and went on as before.

The next morning I rode the trike because I could mindlessly pedal and think of other things.

My thoughts were how to find the man.  There was likely to be a sex crimes online file, for sure the police had one.  Maybe I could get Wilson to hack into it.  Then I decided not to bother.  When I got back I told Wilson to check the camera every night.  When big cock showed up again, I would rush right over and meet him.

Wilson didn’t like it, but it did show the most promise.  I had to run to the bank to get some cash for EZ.  So I did that in the pickup.  Then when EZ showed up he and I had a talk.

“So EZ how much money did you lose by helping me those two days?” I asked.

“I didn’t really lose anything.  I just am going to have to bust my ass the next day or two to catch up,” he informed me.

“Okay, let’s try it this way.  What would you say your daily intake is?” I asked.

“It seems to average three or four hundred,” he said.

“Then if I gave you a thousand dollars, would it cover your expenses and your loss of income while you helped me?” I asked.

“Yes, that would cover it just fine,” he said with a grin.

“Now how much for your squirrel gun?” I asked.

“If I found a really stupid ass buyer, it might be worth two hundred,” he said.

“Then five hundred would be more than enough to replace it?” I asked.

“Yes, that would do it just fine,” he said smiling.

“Okay, here is two thousand dollars and you don’t have to report it for taxes.  You should report it, but I’m not going to tell anyone how I spent the money,” I said handing him a wad of cash.

I spent a few minutes refusing his offers of food and then sex.  He really seemed to be a nice guy, even if he did match the description of the rapist.  It the man at the B&B fell through I might have to accept the invitation for sex.  Just to determine once and for all the size of his cock.

After I paid off EZ, Wilson and I settled down to doing a hell of a lot of nothing.  I went out to check on the airstrip after a couple of days and found the field cleared and grass planted.  It hadn’t taken hold yet so the field was covered with straw.  On the way back to the office, I stopped by the bank again and moved $35,000 to the ready access account.  If the Mechanics brother hadn’t been able to sell the plane, I expected to hear from him anytime.

I had been back in town four days when the call came.  “This is the chief mechanic at Hanford Air Service.  My brother said he would take the deal.”

“Well you ran over the deadline a couple of days, but what the hell I am still looking.  Bring it down and bring your papers.  My strip is seeded but it’s covered with straw.  You won’t have a problem with that will you?” I asked.

“No, I hope you are ready to deal.  I can take tomorrow off to bring it down,” he said.

That was when I realized that it would be delivered on Saturday.  “No that’s fine.  I’ll go to the bank today and get the funds,” I said.  I was glad he called when the banks were still open.  I drove down and picked up a certified check made out in the brother’s name.  The check was for the 32k we had discussed.

I got a cellphone call the next day around noon.  “Sylvia I am leaving now.  It’s going to take about two hours so I’ll be there about 2 PM.  The aircraft was not fast, so it cut only about an hour off the drive time.  A little more if you counted the time it takes to get to a major highway.

I was at one end of the airfield with Wilson at 2:30 PM.  It was hot so we drank iced tea poured from the gallon jug.  I loved good coffee and good sweet iced tea.  Wilson and I sat sipping our iced tea and discussing who might be our big cock rapist.

“Okay Wilson, if it’s one of two guy who do you think it would be?” I asked.

“The one at the B&B.  It isn’t just that I know EZ a little and don’t want it to be him, it is also that the B&B guy fits the description and talked to Chrissy.  He just looks better for it.  I wish we had some DNA from one of the original cases.  Since there was no report there was no medical exam.

“We are just going to have to do it the old fashioned way.  The way they did it before Forensic Science came in vogue.  Lots of room for error, but we are not going to have a chance to do it any other way.”

“The question I have been afraid to ask is if we know who did it, but can’t get him arrested what do we do?” Wilson asked.

“I honestly have no idea.  We for sure stop him from doing it again.  How we do that, I’m not sure,” I said.

“We do not make him disappear, right?” he asked.

“Of course not, what do you think I am?” I asked.

“Okay, hey isn’t that your bird?” Wilson asked.

“Sure does look like it,” I said.  My phone actually rang.  “Hello,” I answered.

“Is that you in the field under me?” the male voice asked.

“It is indeed,” I said.

“Could you light a flare, so I get some idea of the direction of the wind,” he asked.

“I don’t have a flare, how about I fire a shot, but the power is pretty smokeless?” I asked.

“It won’t help,” he said.

“How about we build a little fire in a hub cap?” Wilson asked.

“That will work my old McGyver,” I answered.  “Hold on we are going to build you a smoke pot.”

Wilson used some straw and a hub cab to contain it.  Then I added a few sprinkles of water to make it smoke.

“I got it,” the man delivering the plane said.  Then he landed the little plane beautifully.

Edited by Walt

About cindypress

sorry it is a mystery.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sheriff Porter 83 (edited)

  1. jackballs57 says:

    Great post today. The hubcap smoke pot is a first class idea. Thanks

  2. jackballs57 says:

    i should have added redneck idea LOL

  3. Mr. Twitchy says:

    Sylvia needs to also be aware that UNATTENDED airfields near shore lines are EXTREMELY popular for a variety of ‘MIDNIGHT’ enterprises. I’m sure SWAMP DOG would be happy to pay a stipend for its use all year long. Probably cover the property taxes quite nicely … Then again, Miami would be a likely candidate for other reasons :-}\

  4. anna says:

    entertaining story
    thank you for it

Leave a Reply

